Sign In Forgot Password

A study group on the treatment of Indigenous Peoples in Canada

Past Sessions
Monday, 20 December, 2021 16 Tevet 5782 - 4:00 PM - 5:30 PM - Zoom
Wednesday, 8 December, 2021 4 Tevet 5782 - 4:00 PM - 5:30 PM - Zoom
Wednesday, 24 November, 2021 20 Kislev 5782 - 4:00 PM - 5:30 PM - Zoom
Wednesday, 10 November, 2021 6 Kislev 5782 - 4:00 PM - 5:30 PM - Zoom
Wednesday, 27 October, 2021 21 Cheshvan 5782 - 4:00 PM - 5:30 PM - Zoom
Wednesday, 13 October, 2021 7 Cheshvan 5782 - 4:00 PM - 5:30 PM - Zoom
 
TO REGISTER & RECEIVE TRC's 94 Calls to Action PDF

Contact Gila Cupchik: gilartsmail@gmail.com  

Our aim is to study the interconnected complexities of Indigenous Issues. We will be sourcing speakers, webinars, books, films, documents etc. 

We ZOOM 2nd & 4th Wed. monthly from 4-5pm.

Wed. Oct 13, at 4pm:
Sharon Zeiler is giving us a chronological overview of the History of the systemic situations that led from first contact to the residential school graves. 

Wed. Oct. 27 at 4pm:
Review and open discussion: the child welfare issues in Tanya Talaga’s exquisitely researched Seven Fallen Feathers* about racism, death and terrible truths in Ontario.  

Wed. November 10 & 24 at 4:00pm:
Review and open discussion of the Indian Act. Bob Joseph's Twenty One Things You May Not Know About The Indian Act*.

Sun. Dec. 12 at 7:30pm:
Cindy Blackstock, executive director of the First Nations Child and Family Caring Society, will be bringing us up to date about the current Child Welfare situations. (Much more about this Merkur lecture later).


*Widely available in multiple formats from libraries, Amazon etc.
 
 
Recordings of past meetings:
 
 
 
 
November 24, 2021 (Click HERE to watch the original TVO program discussed in the meeting)
 
Share Print Save To My Calendar
Mon, 15 August 2022 18 Av 5782